• Home
  • Home
  • Home
  • Home

​​​​​​​​About COMNAP

Welcome to the Council of Managers of National Antarctic Program (COMNAP) website.   


COMNAP is the international association, formed in 1988, which brings together its Members, who are the National Antarctic Programs. National Antarctic Programs are those organizations that have responsibility for delivering and supporting scientific research in the Antarctic Treaty Area on behalf of their respective governments and in the spirit of the Antarctic Treaty​.


COMNAP’s purpose which can be found in its Constitution is to “develop and promote best practice in managing the support of scientific research in Antarctica". It does this by:  

  • Serving as a forum to develop practices that improve effectiveness of activities in an environmentally responsible manner; 
  • Facilitating and promoting international partnerships; 
  • Providing opportunities and systems for information exchange; and 
  • Providing the Antarctic Treaty System with objective and practical, technical and non-political advice drawn from the National Antarctic Programs' pool of expertise.

About our Members

COMNAP consists of 30 National Antarctic Program Members. Each  Member program is represented by the Manager of that National Antarctic Program and/or the Deputy Manager of that program.  National Antarctic Programs collectively have the greatest first-hand experience of living and working in the Antarctic.  Many of the National Antarctic Programs have operated in the Antarctic since the International Geophysical Year (IGY) of 1957/58. 

Learn more at Our Members​


About the COMNAP Executive Committee 

The COMNAP Executive Committee (EXCOM) is composed of the elected officers of COMNAP and the Executive Secretary (as an appointed, non-voting member).  There is a Chair and up to five Vice Chairs, each with a term of three years.  The officers are elected at the Annual General Meetings (AGM). 

Professor Kazuyuki Shiraishi, Director-General of Japan's National Institute of Polar Research, completed his 3-year term as COMNAP Chairman on 2 August 2017.  Dr Kelly Falkner, Director of the Office of Polar Programs of the US National Science Foundation, was elected as Chairperson for a 3-year term-this takes effect immediately until the end of COMNAP AGM 2020.


The COMNAP Executive Committee (EXCOM) elected officers are:  

  • Kelly Falkner from the US National Science Foundation/USAP (kfalkner@nsf.gov)
  • Javed Beg from National Center for Antarctic and Ocean Research/NCAOR India (javed.beg@gmail.com)
  • John Guldahl from Norwegian Polar Institute/NPI (john.guldahl@npolar.no)
  • Agnieszka Kruszewska from the Polish National Antarctic Program/IBB PAS (agnieszkak@ibb.waw.pl)
  • Uwe Nixdorf from Germany's Alfred Wegener Institute/AWI (uwe.nixdorf@awi.de)
  • Rob Wooding from Australian Antarctic Division/AAD (rob.wooding@aad.gov.au).

Access practical resources here:  

To find out more about COMNAP, email us at sec@comnap.aq
Windows Auth

 Upcoming Events

The COMNAP Annual General Meeting XXX (2018) will be held in Garmisch, Germany, hosted by AWI, on 11-13 June 2018.  Details soon.




​​​COMNAP Medal 2017 
Recipients Announced

The inaugural COMNAP Chairman’s Medal will be presented to two recipients. Patrice Godon, formerly of France’s
Institut Polaire Français Paul Emile Victor (IPEV) and Henry Valentine, formerly of South Africa’s South African National Antarctic Program (SANAP) are the co-recipients of the 2017 Medal. 

See full announcement here: 
COMNAP Medal media release

​​​​​COMNAP Antarctic Fellowship 2017 Recipient Announced

Gabriela Roldan is the COMNAP Antarctic Fellowship 2017 recipient. Gabriela is from Argentina, and will use the Fellowship to undertake a project at INACH, Chile, entitled "Inviting Antarctica to your home: an evaluation of public engagement with Antarctic science, policy and technology​."

COMNAP AGM XXIX (2017) a BIG Success!
The COMNAP Annual General Meeting (AGM) XXIX (2017) was held in Brno, Czech Republic, hosted by our COMNAP Members from Masaryk University.  A new Chairperson was elected-she is Dr. Kelly Falkner of the US Antarctic Program.
More Information: COMNAP AGM XXIX Communique released 8Aug2017.pdf